DIY: Hand Painted Gift Bags

gift bagI decided to create these super adorable and easy to make hand painted gift bags! Keep reading if you want to see how it’s done:)

Here’s what you will need: 

diy bag 2

PLAIN GIFT BAGS: I chose to use these two plain brown gift bags that I had laying around the house, but any plain gift bags you have will do. Here’s a tip: the paint doesn’t pop on glossy finished gift bags, matte paper works best.

gift bag 3

STENCILS and PAINT BRUSH: I am a huge fan of these Martha Stewart Crafts stencils from Michael’s. You can use them for so many projects, the possibilities are endless. I chose to use this pack called Fair Isle Dots Adhesive Stencils , which worked wonderfully for painting the gift bags. For the paint brush I just chose this smaller tip brush that I’ve had forever. You will want to use a brush with a smaller tip in order to paint over the smaller stencil designs.

GIft bag 4

PAINT: I decided to put some acrylic paint that had been sitting in my art drawer to use. The colors I chose were: Butter and White from Craft Smart and Beach Glass from Martha Stewart Crafts.

 

Let’s start painting: 

gift bag 6gift bag 7

Painting: Simply place the stencils where ever you like, add some paint and peel. It’s as simple as that. Have fun and let those creative juices flow!

gift bag 8gift bag 9

 

Here’s the final result: 

diy bag beforegift bag after

 Happy Painting! 

 

❤ Andy

Leave a comment